Recipe || Kale & Roasted Almond Pesto

I’ve been withdrawn from the blog so I can take a lot of time for myself to do more art related projects. Some of you may not know that I actually used to paint, draw, and do photography quite often. I’ve been missing it lately, and had to get back into it. We all need to take a break now and then, so thanks for understanding. 🙂 Would any of you be interested in a post about my art, along with pictures? Let me know in the comments!

Now on to the recipe stuff…


 

After watching some pesto recipes on Youtube, I got inspired to create my own. I had to get this amazing pesto recipe out this week for you all to try! Trust me, it’s incredibly good. I made a ridiculous amount of the first time around, so I had to fine tune the final recipe to avoid the chance that you end up with a huge tub of pesto lying in your fridge for ages.

This went amazing with pasta, but I also loved dipping veggies in it and spreading it on a sandwich or two as well. Enjoy!

 

This recipe has a few added steps that truly make the end result perfect, don’t skip anything!

Part I | Vegan parmesan ingredients:

  • 1 cup cashews
  • 2 tbsp nooch (nutritional yeast) you can find this at most grocery stores, health stores, or on amazon
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp pink himalayan salt (or use any salt you have on hand)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Part II | Pesto:

  • 1 cup roasted almonds (instructions in recipe below)
  • 1 cup of tightly packed kale, with stems removed
  • 3 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 2 tbsp vegan parmesan
  • 1 tsp dried or fresh basil (fresh is always best)
  • 1 tsp dried or fresh parsley
  • 6 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil (may need to add more oil during blending process)

 

First, you will get your almonds in the oven to roast. Your house/apartment will smell pretty darn awesome. Preheat your oven to 350 ° degrees (176 celsius), and then set a timer for 12 minutes. Check on the almonds every 3-4 minutes just to make sure they aren’t burning. You should check to make sure they are evenly browning, and mix them up a little if they need help.

 

After 12 minutes, you should have almonds that look like the photo below. Go ahead and try some too, the flavor is even more enchanced than just a regular almond. Set them aside for later.

Before and after!

Pour all of your vegan parmesan ingredients directly into a blender or food processor, and pulse several times until you get a breadcrumb like texture. Most importantly, do not blend, and don’t blend too long! Your parm will turn out lumpy and difficult to shake/sprinkle over food. Shake up the crumbs during blending to help make it more even.

 

Final result of blending.

Mine had a few lumps here and there from not shaking or stirring up the crumbs as I went to redistribute everything. You will have leftover parm after using some for the pesto, which is perfect for anything you would put parmesan on normally. Get creative! It’s soooooo tasty.

Now get all of your pesto ingredients together, and pour them directly into a blender. Begin on a low speed to start, and gradually increase the speed to continue blending. Add additional olive oil a tablespoon at a time, until you reach the desired consistency.

 

Creamy, nutty, perfection.

 

I found some cool shaped pasta on sale at the grocery store to have with my pesto, but you can use whatever kind of pasta you’d like. 🙂

 

The finished dish!

I added some freshly chopped tomato, and a generous dash of vegan parmesan. So good.

 

I hope you all enjoyed this little recipe, and come back later this week for another post!

 

What I’m listening to

Leave a Reply

