What’s on My iPhone? | Apps I’m Using

Hi friends!

Today I’m giving you a little tour of my phone and the apps that I use (and also the ones I may not use that much, haha). I got my iPhone 7 Plus at the end of last year, and it has been the best phone upgrade I have ever made so far. If you have an iPhone, you may find yourself feeling the same way about the awesome features and apps they offer. Or, you could hate them, and be loyal to a different phone manufacturer. Let me know what phone you enjoy using, and any apps I should check out!

The tour is divided into handy dandy folders that contain a different subject for each set of apps that are related. I love having things organized that way, instead of keeping apps scattered all over. Of course, everyone is different, and this may not be what works best for you personally 🙂 How do you organize your phone? I’m always up for ideas.

*Quick disclaimer:
This post is not sponsored by any apps or companies listed. All opinions are always my own!


 

When I unlock my phone, this is what the home screen looks like.

I found the kitty wallpaper on Google images. Whenever I get bored with my backgrounds, I will usually find a photo in my own library. The other two places I browse occassionally for photos are Google images, or Unsplash. <–Check this website out for totally free high-res photos that you can use for whatever you want!

IMG_1083

 

Shopping + Food

  • Amazon

I bought a lot of stuff on Amazon for Christmas gifts last year, and got to try out their Prime service in the process. It’s super convenient! I keep the app on my phone just to browse random items, and add things to a wish list in the hopes of purchasing them in the future.

  • Sunrise Soap

This is a semi-local business that sells handmade soap, lotions, body butters, scrubs, bath bombs, shower tablets, and a ton more. The ladies that work there are some of the friendliest people I’ve ever met, and they love to give you samples! The app lets you earn rewards for the shop, and gives you coupons to use. Plus, just the fact that you are supporting a local business is amazing!

  • Calculator

A lot of people may keep the calculator on their phone in a “junk” folder that’s out of sight and out of mind, but mine is front and center. Reason why? I regularly use it! I keep track of my grocery shopping totals with it, calculate tipping, and just look at it and cry about how bad I am at math 😦

  • Yelp

Because I love food, I love to know about restaurants and their reputation. I also like the ability to chime in when I feel it’s necessary. I don’t use this app very much, since eating out isn’t a regular activity, but it’s helpful when we do go and check out a new place.

IMG_1088

 

Photo

  • Pic Jointer

A simple app that lets me arrange photos in multiple frames, create collages, add borders, etc. This is another app I don’t use a lot, but I really like to have it when I am trying to use several pictures at once.

  • VSCO

VSCO is what I consider the granddaddy / supreme ruler of photo editing apps. The filters are creative, simple, fun to play with, and addicting. Almost every photo I put on social media has gone through VSCO at some point. I don’t know why I haven’t purchased the entire filter collection yet, but I better get on it!

  • Canva

I stumbled upon this app by complete accident while surfing the app store. I downloaded it to see if I’d like it, and it turned out to be the best design related app I’ve ever experienced. I use Canva entirely for my blog graphics, and for blog related Instagram posts. It’s not the easiest thing to use when you start out, but if you are patient with it, you’ll be rewarded with awesome and professional photos.

IMG_1087

 

Games

  • Pokémon GO

Ahhhh yes, the game that took the world by storm when it first came out. I am still a huge fan of playing this, and like to use it when my boyfriend and I have time to walk around and get the full experience. I don’t know if it will get old for me, since I’m not usually a phone game type of person, but we shall see.

  • Words With Friends

I have played this Scrabble copycat on and off for quite a long time, and right now it’s wasting space on my phone. I shamefully make a move only after being notified for days and days that it’s my turn. I’ll probably be trashing it soon.

  • Monument Valley

I’m a huge nut for story based games, and this one contains a story, plus a wide range of mind-bending puzzles in the mix. It’s a beautifully made piece with relaxing music, great artwork, and simple gameplay. As far as I know, you can buy this for 99 cents right now on the app store (act fast though, you never know how long that could last). I got it for $3.99. It was worth it though!

  • Samorost 3

This game is a part of a series that I knew nothing about until I checked it out on the app store. I watched a game trailer to see what it was all about, and immediately bought it. There isn’t a way for me to easily describe this game, because it is so incredibly unique and bizarre in its own way. Watch a trailer to see what I mean!

IMG_1086

 

Money

  • Capital One

Credit card bills anyone? This one’s pretty self-explanatory.

  • Wallet

This holds all my cards so I can use Apple Pay! Soooooo convenient.

  • Simple

This is my bank. 🙂 I do all of my banking online / through this awesome app, and I don’t have any branch locations to deal with, zero paper checks to write, or a ton of seperate savings or checking accounts. It has made my life insanely easy, and my finances manageable for the first time in a long time.

  • Stocard

Stocard saves my rewards or loyalty cards for businesses inside one place so I don’t have to carry physical cards inside my tiny wallet. I hate extra things inside my wallet, so this is essential.

  • Starbucks

I have a love / hate relationship with Starbucks and the way their rewards program works, but somehow I managed to earn myself a Gold card with them, and rack up stars (stars are their rewards terminology) pretty fast. I have the app on my phone to keep track of my rewards, and to pay at locations.

  • Acorns

I downloaded this app from a referral link a while back, because I was interested in the way it was created to help people invest money. I started out with $5, and never added more funds after doing more research on the app. It just wasn’t useful enough for me. I am deleting it once I add the money back into my bank account, along with the 20 or some cents it managed to earn. 😛

  • ADP Mobile

This app simply keeps track of the hours I work at my job, shows me my paycheck amounts early before I get them, and gives me tax information when I need it. It also has a history of all the other jobs I’ve had in the past that used ADP for their paychecks. This is very helpful to have if you use direct deposit like me.

IMG_1085

 

Blog

  • WordPress

Of course this is the platform on which my very blog exists! While 90% of my blog is done on my laptop, I still use the app to make small tweaks here and there, and to keep track of subscriber activity (comments, new subscribers, likes, etc.).

  • Bitly

Bitly is a really cool app that takes a long link and turns it into a small and condensed version. For example,  https://sunlightofmymind.wordpress.com/ turns into… http://bit.ly/2qy2GqX | I use this to put my current blog posts in my Instagram bio. The app saves all your links into a list and will show you the clicks they have received, and the countries that have visited them.

  • Pinterest

I can’t seem to get myself to like Pinterest. I’ve tried so many times, but I’m not pinterested. OH WOW LOOK AT THE PUNS. Obviously, you’re wondering why I still have it, and that’s because I took a blogger workshop that advised using Pinterest as an outlet to grow your blog audience and subscriber activity. I haven’t even begun to scratch the surface with it yet, but I’m keeping it just in case.

  • Iconosquare

I recently discovered and downloaded this free app to keep track of my Instagram stats. Instagram itself allows you to switch your account to a business profile so you can do what this app does, but I don’t want to do that (for many various reasons), so I use this app in it’s place. I’ve found it helpful for my blog purposes, and I get daily reports sent to my email.

  • Gmail Inbox

This is the Gmail inbox app that I use for my blog email, and a seperate email account for my random type emails (coupons, app emails, receipts from businesses, etc.) It’s clean and streamlined, just the way I like it.

IMG_1084

 

So, that’s all of my apps!

I hope you enjoyed this little tour. Soon I’ll be back to give you a super quick and easy recipe for vegan sour cream. Yay!

 

What I’m listening to

Leave a Reply

